With Canvas now fully implemented, you’ll find one more use for your Google Apps account… I should say your Emerson Google Apps account (google.emerson.edu), not your personal Gmail account.
We’ve been busy testing how the two play together when used at the same time, within the same browser, and we feel it can be a bit convoluted. To simplify your life a bit, we recommend either:
a) opening Canvas in a different browser than what you check your Gmail in, or
b) simply logging out of your personal Gmail account before you log into Canvas.
Both of these will save you a lot of frustration if you decide you want to use the collaboration tools available in Canvas. As always, feel free to call the HelpDesk at x8080 if you have any additional questions.
You can choose what courses you see in your course drop down menu in Canvas!
- To start, hover over the drop-down and then click on “Customize.”
- This will bring up a checklist of all your courses – any checked will appear, while unchecked will not.
- Check off the courses you would prefer to show up, and then exit out of the menu by clicking the “X.”
Please note: On the bottom of the drop-down is a link will let you “View all Courses.”
Students cannot access a course in Canvas until it’s published. If your course is unpublished, you will see a bar across the screen with the text “THIS COURSE IS UNPUBLISHED. Only teachers can see this course until it is published.” Click on the word “published”  to open the Course Setup Checklist:
At the bottom of the screen, the Course Setup Checklist will appear with a “Publish Course” button. Click “Publish Course” :
A message will appear at the top of your screen confirming the publishing of your course:
Enrolled students can now view the course! They will be able to participate in your course 1 week before the semester starts until it ends. After that, your course will be in a read-only state for students.