Students cannot access a course in Canvas until it’s published. If your course is unpublished, you will see a bar across the screen with the text “THIS COURSE IS UNPUBLISHED. Only teachers can see this course until it is published.” Click on the word “published”  to open the Course Setup Checklist:
At the bottom of the screen, the Course Setup Checklist will appear with a “Publish Course” button. Click “Publish Course” :
A message will appear at the top of your screen confirming the publishing of your course:
Enrolled students can now view the course! They will be able to participate in your course 1 week before the semester starts until it ends. After that, your course will be in a read-only state for students.